A Holiday Question for Artists…

Today’s post is really more of a question, or poll. I know it’s holiday crunch time, but if you can spare a minute, I’d love to hear what you have to say.  A few years ago, I gave one of my friends a photograph for Ghristmas. As he was unwrapping it, another friend piped up “You’d better not be giving him a photograph. A photo isn’t a gift, it’s your job!” Though the friend receiving the gift was very gracious, I was still pretty offended.

So what I want to know is this: What are your thoughts on giving your own work as a gift; is it an ok thing to do? Or, how do you feel when you receive something like a photograph from a photographer, or a painting from a painter?

 

image source: Sam Hood
2 Comments

  1. I have been on both sides of this situation. And I honestly think it can be great!!

    When my artist friends give me a piece of their work, I love it. I have started quite the diverse collection, most of which have been gifts. And there was one year where basically everyone on my list received a photograph of mine, and they all loved them.

    I guess it depends on who you are giving it to but I think a lot of people really appreciate our art-y gifts.

    Like

  2. I think more often than not it’s a bad idea. Unless the person had expressed specific interest in a piece then I wouldn’t give them my own work (or other people’s work for that matter). Art is such a personal preference that it’s really hard to gauge if someone would like a specific piece. It also puts them in an awkward position of feeling obliged to hang it even if they don’t like it.

    Like

Comments are closed.